October 13 – Where IS the Travis Technique?

On the Plane to Moscow – Where IS the Travis Technique?

I’ve been in Munich for over a week teaching Master Classes in the Travis Technique, meeting with old friends, making new friends and then participating in a Teleseminar generated out of Los Angeles on the topic of creating your own one-person show. This is a typical week for me in one of my European tours. Now I am on a plane to Moscow where I will conduct another three-day Master Class on the Travis Technique.

And I am realizing that I do way more teaching and training of the Travis Technique in Europe than I do in the US. Why is that? Well, part of it is economic; I’m hired by schools, institutions and organizations all over Europe to spread the good word. It’s a great way to make a living and see the world. But the other reason is more serious. Perhaps it’s cultural, perhaps it is just me, but for whatever reason there seems to be a greater appetite, curiosity, desire to explore and experiment in Europe than in the US.

Here’s one response I heard in the US several years ago when I approached a first-time director (member of the Director’s Guild) about the work I was doing and how it might help him expand his experience and effectiveness as a director: “I’m a director. I’m a member of the DGA. I don’t need more training.”

And here’s the response I heard earlier this year from a highly accomplished and experienced director in Amsterdam who was representing the DDG (Directors Guild in the Netherlands) when I made the same suggestion, “We need this. We need to keep learning. I need to keep learning. I’ve read your new book (“Bag of Tricks”) and I’ve already used two of the tricks to great success. Thank you.”

But I am determined to bring these techniques back to LA. The good news: the DGA Special Projects Committee is going to be sponsoring a series of Master Classes in 2012 on Directing the Actor and I will be doing one of them. I’ll keep you informed when it will be happening.

And in future blogs we’ll begin discussing what the Travis Technique really is. There’s a book coming (it’ll take a couple of years) but these will give you all a head start.

About Mark W Travis

MARK W. TRAVIS is regarded by Hollywood and independent film professionals internationally as the world’s leading teacher and consultant on the art and craft of film directing. He is known as “the director’s director.” Fueled by the desire to generate organic and authentic performances in an instant, Mark developed his revolutionary Travis Technique over a span of 40 years. Not limited to filmmakers, The Travis Technique has proven to be an essential set of tools for all storytellers, writers, directors and actors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to October 13 – Where IS the Travis Technique?

  1. patti says:

    Hope you have a great time in Moscow, Mark. Enjoyed your interview with Chris Soth…it’s all about subtext. I’d love to hear more on the Travis Technique, tho I’m not a director. Keep us all posted on how you are enjoying yourself…I’m sure it’s a learning experience for you as well.

Leave a comment