A Mind of It’s Own

What is a story?”

I have been trying for days now to answer this question – ‘what is a story?’ And as usual I find myself lured down some interesting pathway into the world of widgets and movies in the mind. These ADD detours, I must admit, fascinate me. I am always curious as to where my mind takes me. I do not feel in control. Every morning I sit here at my morning tea spot on the side of the hill where my house is perched. I look out at the hills of Shadow and the mountains of Verdugo, my loyal friend, Tanner, prancing through the shrubs and ice-plant, looking for unsuspecting rabbits and squirrels. (His ADD is worse than mine, that’s a comfort.) And every morning as I write I am taken on this wonderful journey of discovery. I never know where I am going. I am frequently surprised by the turns in the road. And I am often thrilled by the destination that I didn’t see coming. See the problem?

Just when I start to write about one thing my mind (which I think has a mind of it’s own) decides we’re going somewhere else. I’m thrilled that my mind has an idea of where we’re going because I certainly don’t. And then I drift further and further away from the original idea, the original question and find myself in the shrubs and ice plant looking for rabbits and squirrels to chase.

I don’t know if you ever worry about your mind. I do. Not my brain, my mind. My brain’s fine. Hey, 14 years ago it got itself re-arranged into a better configuration and now it’s happily chugging along like a newly restored antique car. It’s not going very fast but it’s looking good and attracting the appropriate ‘ooohs’ and ‘aaahs’. But my mind, that is what concerns me. Mostly because I can’t seem to find it, can’t seem to wrap my arms around it, buddy up to it, claim it as my own. No, my mind truly has a mind of it’s own and it is as rebellious, independent, illusive, problematic and annoying as any two-year old. Problem is, it’s a teen-ager, re-arranged and restored 14 years ago. And now it looks at me with that teen-age angst of disgust and distain as if to say, ’puhlease! what do you know?’ and it walks out of the room to go and play with its friends.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

For those of you wondering what the following paragraph is all about, you must read the blog post entitled: Which Widgets Do You Want to Make?

Mandatory SEOs: storytelling, directing feature films, first-time director, directing actors, writing screenplays, acting on camera, storytelling, directing feature films, first-time director, directing actors, writing screenplays, acting on camera, storytelling, directing feature films, first-time director, directing actors, writing screenplays, acting on camera.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Mind of It’s Own

  1. Dave says:

    Well said, Mark. Sounds very familiar, as my own mind is of a very similar and rebellious nature too (despite what my brain may want it to do). Gotta go, think I just saw a rabbit!

  2. jsagiao says:

    Yes, the challenge of the wandering mind … sometimes I think our world would be a much better place if we just let our mind’s wander a little more frequently … maybe not as productive, but perhaps more content.

  3. Your mind is a mess, Mark. . . you got it right— but your soul, oh baby, you are a great master of soul and of leading others to find their own soul-source.

  4. patti says:

    Thanks, Mark. I never thought of a distinction between mind and brain….I’ll have to think about it after I catch that cwazy wabbit!

Leave a Reply

